Options

would this be a good job for a fresh grad?

thekid007thekid007 Member Posts: 33 ■■■□□□□□□□
hi everyone,

so im a 24 year old grad of a 1-year networking program in Canada. graded in end of 2013.

right now, i have an opportunity with a company, which is small-mid, with a couple branch offices. they are involved in a very interesting sector (and one which you would not get often to work with). they are a start-up right now, but because of what they are involved in, i would no less suspect them to be extremely successful in the upcoming two years. the position is for a jr.net/sys admin.

the main task would be providing internal IT support for all their offices. the rest is to assist in internal projects, backups, documentation, maintaining server equipment. fix a lightbulb here or there.

this is mainly an Apple environment, with linux back-end. which is cool because i think for a young/fresh grad, its hard to get into the linux side (or find a company thats willing to work with you). i enjoy linux, but im neutral to linux/windows.

the team seems very nice there, and the location is great. salary is fair (i think?) - mid 40s, with benefits after 3 months.

my question i know is vague, but do you guys think this would be the right foot to start on? i had a shadow day, and things were fairly slow, but i was told this is not usually the case.

i interview well, have good people skills, and my technical skills are alright. i was told by a programmer friend of mine, that the 1st year i should look for a position where i can work my arse off and learn a lot. initially i was looking for managed services as i felt you can learn more in those environments.

but this position came along, and the process came together very easy (which i think is a good thing). im pretty much sure i'll take it, but any tips or advice? i haven't negotiated anything (nor am i sure if i am in a position to do so).

thanks.

Comments

• Options