Options

Advice; want to take job but being advised against, Opinion?

codedwarcodedwar Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been offered a position as a Field Network Installation Technician for a defense subcontractor. It is only a 1 year contract but I'm told it should be renewed(says the guy hiring me). I think it would be a really fun job as I would be traveling almost all the time and get to see a lot of new places, some overseas. The pay is not bad, roughly what I make now and possibly a bit more if I make money on the per diem. I am also very comfortable with the work I would be doing which is nice. It would be deploying equipment and light configuration to various locations.

My former boss and a mentor of mine is strongly advising me not to take it. He says the job is a step down and after the contract ends and I have to find another position it will look bad when applying for Network Engineer positions because I have been an Installation Technician. He also says he can help find me a more stable position as a federal employee or for a larger company. Honestly, he is very well connected and has a large network of contacts and I think he probably could at least help put me in touch with people. I am not in a huge hurry as I am currently employed but do need to give an answer on this job offer very soon.

I can't decide whether I should decline it and look for a more stable job or take it. Honestly, it would probably be a step down for me as I have been in a network engineering type position for the past few years but I am very interested in the travel and I also wouldn't have to relocate. Do you guys think taking this position would hurt my career in the long run?

Comments

• Options
    XyroXyro Member Posts: 623
    I would not take it. I think your mentor is right. I believe that mainly why you are interested in this position is because you want to travel lol. I say travel on your own time & let your mentor assist you.
  • Options