Options

What Is The Best Path for Obtaining Certifications to Become A System Admin?

coreyb80coreyb80 Member Posts: 647 ■■■■■□□□□□
Morning all and happy Friday. Landed my 1st real IT gig last summer and I've been loving it ever since. Thought I t was set on networking until I started studying and realized that, presently, it's not my true interest and I don't want to do it just for a paycheck. I did decide on becoming a system admin. What I'm not sure on is what certs are best for becoming a system admin and that's what brings me here. I appreciate everyone input and thanks in advance.
WGU BS - Network Operations and Security
Completion Date: May 2021

Comments

• Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    A system admin can cover a broad scope of responsibilities, and deal with many different types of technologies. The title can also mean anything from a Help Desk technician, to a network engineer, to a systems architect, depending on the company you work for. So the question is, what specifically do you want to spend you days doing?
  • Options
    Good question...I'm already working on the help desk.
  • Options
    dpsmooth15dpsmooth15 Banned Posts: 155
    One technique that I personally use, is going to the site that gives you the most hope , indeed, dice, clearance jobs, whatever. Type in #system admin# and the city, and scroll and look at the requirements they desire, and the daily duties. That should help you out the greatest I believe, to narrow down the quest, Saying System Admin is like saying you want a BMW. What kind of BMW 1 Series, 2 series, 3 series, 4 series, M, etc etc. You have to be more specific
  • Options
    unfbilly11unfbilly11 Member Posts: 100 ■■□□□□□□□□