Options

Cisco equipment advice needed

WhistlestopWhistlestop Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I'm new to these forums but have been a long time lurker. I have very recently acquired a Cisco 2950 layer 2 switch and a Cisco 2800 router. I am looking to buy another 2950 switch and possibly a 3550 multi layer switch in the near future. I'm a newbie but have done some basic stuff like configuring VLANs, setting up access ports - in Packet tracer. So never any real physical stuff.

I have also bought myself a console cable which I believe is the thing I need to physically connect to the device so that it can be configured. I've also got another type of cable which has a USB plug on one end and 4 serial connectors which I presume I should be able to connect to 4 different roll over cables, giving me access to upto 4 cisco devices at a time? is that right?
I'd like to know whether this method of connectivity is the norm? i.e. do i "console" into each router or switch and set them up basically and also set an IP address for telnet access? I should then be able to dispense with the console cable, connect my PC or laptop to the switch, set up VLANs etc and then if i need to access the router, I can telnet to it? provided the VLAN1 on the 2950 switch is the same as the router's VLAN1?
I believe i'd also need to configure an 802.1Q trunk between the 2950 and the router, set up router on a stick?

Comments

• Options
    joeypants05joeypants05 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□