Options

What's the next logical step?

bckcbckc Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm a first line engineer wanting a 2nd line job, so far I've passed the following exams: CCNA Fundamentals, Microsoft 70-680 & 70-685. I've got the CompTia Network+ exam later this month which I will pass. After that what's the next logical step? I don't want to sit A+. Maybe Security+? Or more microsoft exams?

What would help me progress?

Comments

• Options
    BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I think it depends on where you want to go.

Administration - More M$ certs
    Networking - More Cisco, maybe Juniper
    Security - Sec+, etc.
    Virtualization - VMWare, M$, etc.
  • Options
    bckcbckc Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Bokeh wrote: »
    I think it depends on where you want to go.

Administration - More M$ certs
    Networking - More Cisco, maybe Juniper
    Security - Sec+, etc.
    Virtualization - VMWare, M$, etc.

I'm wanting to go into network and network security in the long run, I might sit Security + next and then maybe a Juniper exam but then what in terms of security should I go for?

Also do you think that the qualififications I currently have are enough to start applying for a 2nd line engineer job?
  • Options
    aftereffectoraftereffector Member Posts: 525 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you have CCNA, why go back to Net+? It's like moving backwards! :) I'd recommend Security+ and CCNA Security if you want to get into the network engineering side of security, with a goal of attaining CCNP Security eventually.
    CCIE Security - this one might take a while...
  • Options
    ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
    bckc wrote: »
    I'm wanting to go into network and network security in the long run, I might sit Security + next and then maybe a Juniper exam but then what in terms of security should I go for?

Also do you think that the qualififications I currently have are enough to start applying for a 2nd line engineer job?