Options

A+ And happily Employed but Looking for Growth - What Next?

jerrdufordjerrduford Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All, I obtained my A+ certification a little over a year ago just to get into the field and have had mostly good experiences. I am currently a hardware support team manager where I manage several activities, namely providing a retail chain with hardware support (fixing, shipping, and troubleshooting of all of the systems in a retail environment). However, I am looking for better opportunities.

I am not sure what I want to specify in (networking, Server, Linux, etc.) but my main goal is improved employ ability and pay. These may not be the right goals in the eyes of the community, but at the end of the day, it's what we work for.

I have looked briefly into CCENT/CCNA, MSCA, and have thought also that NET+, SERVER+ and SEC+ would be easily obtainable. My question is which of these are actually going to be most valuable to me and my employers? Are there any of these or other certifications that are extremely valuable?

Any general personal advice would be great - If you know of a cert and materials that you personally used to obtain and would recommend, please do! It is much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would suggest starting out by studying for Net+ and Sec+. They will indicate to you whether or not you like the technology enough to pursue other, more indepth certs (CCNA/CASP). Besides that, are there any technologies that your current employer uses that you could learn? For instance, MCSA: Windows 7? If you enjoy the company you work for, I would suggest pursuing certs that directly apply to them, then branch out into other areas that interest you.

Cheers
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me