Different simultaneous issue - VTP

sendalotsendalot Member Posts: 328
This is is a different simultaneous issue along with "Hiccup on setting up first IP Phone."


Please take a look at these two switches and notice any issue for VTP and trunking. PWR-SW's fa 0/23 is connected to SW-2's fa 0/24.



[PWR-SW]



Building configuration...


Current configuration : 5701 bytes
!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
service password-encryption
no service dhcp
!
hostname sndlt3550
!
enable secret 5 $1$e1To$0rFwIzZOKxA9r8hpGolzq0
enable password 7 000A161106095B575B
!
username sndlt password 7 0208014C09545F7018
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
ip domain-name sndlt.com
!
ip dhcp-server 10.10.10.10
!
!
crypto pki trustpoint TP-self-signed-3185929216
enrollment selfsigned
subject-name cn=IOS-Self-Signed-Certificate-3185929216
revocation-check none
rsakeypair TP-self-signed-3185929216
!
!
crypto pki certificate chain TP-self-signed-3185929216
certificate self-signed 01
3082024B 308201B4 A0030201 02020101 300D0609 2A864886 F70D0101 04050030
31312F30 2D060355 04031326 494F532D 53656C66 2D536967 6E65642D 43657274
6FF 301E0603

55E59 1C98A69F BA2743AD 5675E103

895E3656 FCE89C11 293A2E5F 09D6DDC4 3176AAC1 0C91E78A 78E95915 D6C3CD0B
A26A4204 D257D464 68A8EB03 AB8D26
quit
!
!
spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending
!
ip ssh version 2
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
no switchport
no ip address
duplex full
!
interface FastEthernet0/2
switchport access vlan 50
switchport mode access
switchport voice vlan 10
spanning-tree portfast
!


interface FastEthernet0/24
switchport access vlan 50
switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
switchport mode trunk
switchport voice vlan 10
spanning-tree portfast
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/1
switchport mode dynamic desirable
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/2
switchport mode dynamic desirable
!
interface Vlan1
ip address 10.10.10.12 255.255.255.0
!
ip default-gateway 10.10.10.10
ip classless
ip http server
ip http secure-server
!
!
control-plane
!
!
line con 0
line vty 0 4
login local
transport input ssh
line vty 5
login local
transport input none
line vty 6 15
login
!
end





#show vtp sta
VTP Version : running VTP2

Configuration Revision : 3
Maximum VLANs supported locally : 1005
Number of existing VLANs : 7
VTP Operating Mode : Server
VTP Domain Name : sndlt.com
VTP Pruning Mode : Disabled
VTP V2 Mode : Enabled
VTP Traps Generation : Disabled
MD5 digest : 0x13 0xEF 0x2E 0x5D 0x78 0x69 0xAA 0x8E
Configuration last modified by 10.10.10.12 at 3-1-93 03:30:49
Local updater ID is 10.10.10.12 on interface Vl1 (lowest numbered VLAN interface found)



[SW-2]



Building configuration...


Current configuration : 1524 bytes
!
version 12.1
no service pad
service timestamps debug uptime
service timestamps log uptime
service password-encryption
!
hostname sndlt
!
enable secret 5 $1$dPtF$LmMU2BgqpGblALK68HgZN.
!
username sndlt password 7 1419171C0E567A7A70
ip subnet-zero
!
ip domain-name sndlt.com
ip ssh time-out 120
ip ssh authentication-retries 3
!
!
spanning-tree mode pvst
no spanning-tree optimize bpdu transmission
spanning-tree extend system-id
spanning-tree vlan 1 priority 0
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
!
interface FastEthernet0/2
!
interface FastEthernet0/3
!
interface FastEthernet0/4
!
interface FastEthernet0/5
!
interface FastEthernet0/6
!
interface FastEthernet0/7
!
interface FastEthernet0/8
!
interface FastEthernet0/9
!
interface FastEthernet0/10
!
interface FastEthernet0/11
!


!
interface FastEthernet0/23
!
interface FastEthernet0/24
switchport mode trunk

!
interface Vlan1
ip address 10.10.10.6 255.255.255.0
no ip route-cache
!
ip default-gateway 10.10.10.10
ip http server
!
line con 0
line vty 0 4
password 7 09424B1E1B5747435F
login local
transport input ssh
line vty 5
password 7 011D03135959565E75
login local
transport input ssh
line vty 6 15
login local
transport input ssh
!
!
end


#show vtp pas
The VTP password is not configured.
sndlt#show vtp stat
VTP Version : 2
Configuration Revision : 0
Maximum VLANs supported locally : 128
Number of existing VLANs : 5
VTP Operating Mode : Client
VTP Domain Name : sndlt.com
VTP Pruning Mode : Disabled
VTP V2 Mode : Disabled
VTP Traps Generation : Disabled
MD5 digest : 0x47 0x2E 0xC4 0xCA 0xDB 0x2F 0xAD 0xB3
Configuration last modified by 0.0.0.0 at 0-0-00 00:00:00

Comments

  • late_collisionlate_collision Member Posts: 146
    VTP only works over trunk links. Is PWR-SW's fa 0/23 a trunk? It is not included in the configuration your provided.
  • sendalotsendalot Member Posts: 328
    I concluded that because it's not a crossover cable since it's not new IOS, it can't auto-change cabling mode.
  • cisco_nerdcisco_nerd Member Posts: 198
    It is advisable to always use the correct cabling when connecting same layer devices.

    You need to configure trunk ports on both the switches. As stated above, VTP only works over trunks. Fix this and it should work. Ensure that if you are using a password for VTP updates that they explicitly match on both switches.
  • GngoghGngogh Member Posts: 165 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi, i do not understand the point of having this configuration on PWR-SW

    !
    interface FastEthernet0/24
    switchport access vlan 50
    switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
    switchport mode trunk
    switchport voice vlan 10
    spanning-tree portfast
    !

    is this a trunk port or an access port???

  • IristheangelIristheangel CCIEx2 (Sec + DC), CCNP RS, CCNA V/S/R/DC, CISSP, CEH, MCSE 2003, A+/L+/N+/S+, and a lot more from m Pasadena, CAMod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    If that's the connection between the two switches, I would clean up the config a bit. Lots of unnecessary lines in there.
    Remove switchport access vlan 50, switchport voice vlan 10, and spanning-tree portfast. Maybe throw in spanning-tree portfast trunk

    Also, did you notice this:

    #show vtp sta
    VTP Version : running VTP2

    Configuration Revision : 3
    Maximum VLANs supported locally : 1005
    Number of existing VLANs : 7
    VTP Operating Mode : Server
    VTP Domain Name : sndlt.com
    VTP Pruning Mode : Disabled
    VTP V2 Mode : Enabled
    VTP Traps Generation : Disabled
    MD5 digest : 0x13 0xEF 0x2E 0x5D 0x78 0x69 0xAA 0x8E
    Configuration last modified by 10.10.10.12 at 3-1-93 03:30:49
    Local updater ID is 10.10.10.12 on interface Vl1 (lowest numbered VLAN interface found)

    #show vtp pas
    The VTP password is not configured.
    sndlt#show vtp stat
    VTP Version : 2
    Configuration Revision : 0
    Maximum VLANs supported locally : 128
    Number of existing VLANs : 5
    VTP Operating Mode : Client
    VTP Domain Name : sndlt.com
    VTP Pruning Mode : Disabled
    VTP V2 Mode : Disabled
    VTP Traps Generation : Disabled
    MD5 digest : 0x47 0x2E 0xC4 0xCA 0xDB 0x2F 0xAD 0xB3
    Configuration last modified by 0.0.0.0 at 0-0-00 00:00:00


    :) One switch is running VTP version 1 and the other is running VTP version 2
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • sendalotsendalot Member Posts: 328
    Yea, I noticed the V2/V1 difference. I had to switch to transparent, turn on V2 and go back to Client since it wouldn't let me swap at client mode.
    I just ordered myself some crossover patch cables.
    It took me 2 hours of this slow mind to suddenly realize that for older switches, you need crossover as they can't auto-detect cable type. (Because the lights on switches wouldn't even lit up other than when connected to a host or a router).
    Oh silly me!
  • cisco_nerdcisco_nerd Member Posts: 198
    sendalot wrote: »
    Yea, I noticed the V2/V1 difference. I had to switch to transparent, turn on V2 and go back to Client since it wouldn't let me swap at client mode.
    I just ordered myself some crossover patch cables.
    It took me 2 hours of this slow mind to suddenly realize that for older switches, you need crossover as they can't auto-detect cable type. (Because the lights on switches wouldn't even lit up other than when connected to a host or a router).
    Oh silly me!

    Or you could make them...
  • Legacy UserLegacy User Unregistered / Not Logged In Posts: 0 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Get yourself a wire crimper for a few bucks and some ethernet connectors then you could make whatever cable your heart desires.
Sign In or Register to comment.