PMP or ITIL?

Nishant_78Nishant_78 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
I have 10+ years of IT experience spanning across following tracks:
  1. Software Configuration Management
  2. Software Testing
  3. Software Engineering Process Conceptualization
  4. Software Quality Assurance
What is more benefitial for me: PMP or ITIL; to give my career a good jump as well as better opportunities?

Thanks,
Nishant

Comments

• Options
    datacombossdatacomboss Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    PMP by a mile.
    "If I were to say, 'God, why me?' about the bad things, then I should have said, 'God, why me?' about the good things that happened in my life."

Arthur Ashe

• Options
    ChitownjediChitownjedi Member Posts: 578 ■■■■■□□□□□
    PMP by a mile.

PMP requirements are a lot more demanding and involved than ITIL, and has more traction.

[h=3]PMP Eligibility Overview[/h]To apply for the PMP, you need to have either:
    • A secondary degree (high school diploma, associate’s degree, or the global equivalent) with at least five years of project management experience, with 7,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.

OR
    • A four-year degree (bachelor’s degree or the global equivalent) and at least three years of project management experience, with 4,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.
    This is an overview of the requirements. For complete details regarding the PMP eligibility requirements, please view the PMP Handbook for further details.
    If you do not meet the PMP eligibility requirements, you may want to look at the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification.
  • Options
    GarudaMinGarudaMin Member Posts: 204
    Do you also want to be a PIMP in the near future? PMP is better suited.

Just in case, Player In Management Profession (PIMP) :P :D
  • Options
    jthunderbirdjthunderbird Banned Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□