Options

wgu BS-IT-S questioon

2230622306 Member Posts: 223 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm planning to pursue a BS-IT S in wgu. For The past 8 years I have been working as a field tech and now I work as an IT analyst. My question is should I just jump and sign up or get couple certs so I can finish faster. I have some class from a community college. Please advise me.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Unless you need a cert to get accepted into the program, I'd just jump right into it since they will pay for the certs. Less money out of your pocket.
  • Options
    BundimanBundiman Member Posts: 201
    If you think you can pass the certs already I would just jump into WGU. It would be some ez CUs and you could accelerator your degree
    Bachelor of Science, IT - Security Emphasis (Start Date: Apr 1st, 2013)
    Bachelor of Science, IT - Security Emphasis (Completed: Apr 25t, 2014)
  • Options
    ok i will do that then jump on and sign up. how does exams work with WGU? so lets say in my first semester "term" and i take the A+ exam and pass. will i still be able to get rid of some of the CU needed?
  • Options
    Basically, they issue you the voucher, you pass, you get credit for that class plus a certification, and continue on.
  • Options
    so Net+ will only cover 1 class?
  • Options
    Antonio72Antonio72 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I transferred in the A+ and was able to clear 3 classes, IT Fundamentals II and III, as well as Network Fundamentals. If you only transfer in the Net+, you should be able to get Network Fundamentals and Network I cleared. Though you would have to go through the enrollment process to be sure.