Thank you guys! (got a job)

RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
About 3 weeks ago, I made a post asking you guys if I should finish my diploma program or look for work. I currently have a Bachelor of Arts degree (I know it's not in IT, but it's still a degree), A+, Network+, currently working towards CCNA, and I have some real-world IT experience.

A number of you questions why I even went into the diploma program, and suggested that I look for work. Well today, I went to a 2nd interview for an entry-level IT Technician job and got hired later that day. I just want to say thank you guys so much!

I'll be making $41k, which I'm very happy with. I was willing to accept #35k

I think it's going to be a great position for me to start at, especially as I pursue more certifications to enhance my skills!

Thanks everybody!

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
  • lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    Awesome news RedGaiter! Congrats icon_cheers.gif

For most of IT's purposes, any 4 year degree will do. Honestly only things like compsci matter if you want to go into programming/development. Masters programs are a different breed, however.
  • joemysteriojoemysterio Member Posts: 152
    Congrats! What market are you in?
    Current goals: CCNA/CCNP
  • RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm working out of Vancouver, Canada
  • iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Congrats! Don't let yourself get too comfortable and complacent. Keep on studying and that number will keep getting bigger!
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • puertorico1985puertorico1985 Member Posts: 205