Options

Can I get some resume help please?

gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
I am finishing up my ccent, so hopefully by next Friday I can show that i obtained it. but i was wondering if someone can help me modify my resume toward a NOC position?

i dont necessarily have 2-3 years expierence with a NOC, but i have been shadowing with my current one and about to obtain my CCENT, and have similar help desk expierence (if you haven't seen my other thread, i most likely will not stay with my employer and trying to apply to other NOC's)

Comments

• Options
    SteveFTSteveFT Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 149
    I'm relatively new to the field, so I'm sure others will help more. I did notice a few things:

- I'd reduce the bullet points of prior positions to skills and achievements that are relevant to NOC. For instance, "Imaged,configured and deployed new/ used hardware and software" and "[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Deployedcomputers for current and new employees." [/FONT]probably don't need their own lines. Likewise, "Knowledgeof Remote Desktop Connection" probably isn't worth mentioning at this point in your career. It also sounds more like a skill than what you did in that position. I typically stick to 2-3 bullet notes for old positions unless it is really relevant or you had some great achievements.

- Consider removing the "Specialized courses in Computer Science" and put "Relevant coursework:" or something similar in it's place. Also, I'd remove "about 12 units." They will know based on the classes listed and I would never list uncertain terms on a resume. It makes it seem like you didn't go check your transcript to know for a fact.

- Make the Skills/Software/Hardware more readable. Add some spacing in there. You might also consider just calling it Skills?

- Make the header with your name and contact info a bit prettier. It doesn't have to be the best looking thing ever, but a little formatting might go a long way.