At a crossroad...

-prophet--prophet- Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone!

I am at a crossroad and want a little advice to the right direction!

I've decided to back up my 8 years IT experience (helpdesk, consulting, training) with Certs. I am currently a non IT related teacher but want to get back into the field.

This year I got my Net+ and CCNA. My cert training company told me "study for a CCNP" which I have started, but now I have second thoughts... I don't want to be sitting in a router and switch room, I want to be around people, maybe as a trainer or supporting people rather then just Net hardware etc.

I love working with Cisco gear, but maybe I should be rounding my cert with MicroSoft too?

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Prophet

Comments

• blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If that's the case don't waste your time with CCNP. You should start working on your Microsoft certs.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Knock out several of the CompTIA certs.
    Work through the MS Certs and as time permits
    Add the CISCO certs.

If you'd like to teach it, then it would be handy to go through the process even if that' not your life long dream. But I'd get the 'quick' ones out of the way first.

YMMV
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • deneb829deneb829 Member Posts: 292