CASP while studying for the CISSP

warriorfan808warriorfan808 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm studying for the CISSP. I've been going through Pearson VUE CBTs, while taking notes, and I'm reading CISSP (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional Official Study Guide. I'm at the end of my contract and need to strengthen my resume pretty quick. Does the CISSP material cover CASP material as well? Will switching over for a couple weeks to the CASP hurt me? I've just run into some jobs that post that the CASP is acceptable, however the majority seem to want a CISSP. A little background, I have a BS Computer Science, MS Information Technology, CCNP, CCDP, JNCIA, MCP, Security +, Network +, ITILv3.

Comments

• bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    The CASP and CISSP is almost night and day. The CASP is much more technical and has lab simulations in the exam. You wont see BCP/DRP and the like on the CASP. Also, dont underestimate the CASP. I have heard from many people that it is a tough exam, maybe due to the fact there arent many resources out there to utilize as compared to the CISSP. As the CASP states, it is application security so be prepared to get deep in the technical side of security.

Personally, I would just continue with yor CISSP studies. Are you looking for a more technical job? The CASP knowledge could benefit you more but the CISSP will, undoubtedly, help you more in the job search.
    "If your dreams dont scare you - they ain't big enough" - Life of Dillon
  • RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
    bpenn wrote: »