Options

From Windows to Linux, is it a good move?

minidanielsminidaniels Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I have been working as a Windows System Admin for about 5 years now, and my company is offering me some training of my choice. I have done a little bit with Linux in the past and after studying some material for the RHCSA, I'm loving it!

Is it a good idea to change from Windows to Linux? And is hard to get a role in the relevant field after working with only Windows?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    netsysllcnetsysllc Member Posts: 479 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Good Linux admins are hard to find and usually make a much higher salary. Never hurts to have more skills under your belt but it will take time.
  • Options
    BodanelBodanel Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I will see the experience in the windows field as an advantage. Ive done this move about 5 years ago and it's the best decision I've made in my career.
  • Options
    vanillagorilla3vanillagorilla3 Member Posts: 79 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I feel the same way. Been working with Windows my whole career, but want to move into Linux. I've been studying for the RHCSA, but I'm already applying to Linux positions. Hopefully someone will take a chance on me.
  • Options
    VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
    Hey guys,

I have been working as a Windows System Admin for about 5 years now, and my company is offering me some training of my choice. I have done a little bit with Linux in the past and after studying some material for the RHCSA, I'm loving it!

Is it a good idea to change from Windows to Linux? And is hard to get a role in the relevant field after working with only Windows?

Thanks

I made the move from Windows to Linux/Unix a year and a half ago. It was a good career move from a salary perspective and having both Windows/Linux under the belt is only going to increase opportunities in the future.
  • Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□