LEO Experience and A+

BL83BL83 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been a Law Enforcement Officer for 9 years and have been managing a very successful restaurant for about a year now. I have really been wanting to get into the network security aspect of the IT world. Is there any advice or specific route I should be taking? Also, I have no experience in the IT industry, will my past experience help me get my foot in the door with A+ certification? Thank you for any and all advice.

Comments

• gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Depends on what you did as a LEO, but overall LEO skills don't mean much in IT, IMHO. Typical cybercriminal's psychology isn't like street one's.

Also it could be harder to break right into infosec. People usually first try to get into IT and then into infosec.

Also, entry-level salary in IT is pretty low compared to what you probably make as a LEO. I assume it is around 70-80k plus OT. Entry level jobs with A+ in IT are closer to 20-30-40k.
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Lots of people suddenly want to jump into the security side of IT, particularly in an unprepared fashion. My personal mantra has developed over the years of observation has basically remained the same: "IT Security is best entered after you have a solid background in one of the three pillars of IT - development, DBA or infrastructure.

It takes years of experience in IT to learn both the BA and soft skills needed to apply within the security realm and truly be successful. This is why there are so many faux-auditors in the field (the basis of ITSec) in the first place. I will accept all the rotten tomatoes thrown at me here but ITSec is about applying what started out as financial controls to a technology based environment first - tech second.

What specifically of the 31 types of security tasks are you interested in with a law enforcement background and an A+?

- b/eads