OSCP after CISSP ??

M22M22 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the CISSP exam last year and received the CISSP-status from ISC2-endorsement. It took me a full week to list my 5 years experience on 2 or more of the 8th domains. THere was no CISSP around who could endorse me.

In 2010 and 2011 i did CEH v6 and ESCA both from EC-Counsil. Great courses but 5 days is just to short to get real pentesting experience. I do realise that CISSP is for management and CEH, ESCA ect is more "operational".

I used to work as a teamleader for 7 years and currently work as a project manager and advisor for a small local government but will not make CISO because i am not a YES-man. I do need my 40 CPE this year and I am also thinking of starting to work as a freelancer next to my current job, one day a week.

My plan is to start with vulnerability-assements, improvement-plan, policy-review and policy-improvement and implementions of controlls etc.

I think that OSCP will give me extra skills to deepdive into vulnerabilities (more than CEH and ESCA) and will get me the extra skills to get me the proper assignments after doing a proper vulnerablity-assesments.

What do you think ??? is OCSP after CISSP a good choice ???

Comments

• chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I would say YES since you have both CEH and CISSP now. I am going for the CISSP right now but I DON'T plan on taking OSCP after it. I plan on taking the CEH and then going for the OSCP. CEH to OSCP flows much better.

Aside from this, from what I hear the course material does a good job teaching you what is needed for the exam anyways. So technically you should get enough examples, theory, explanations, and labs before you attempt the exam.

I see no reason why you shouldn't take the OSCP.

Good luck and keep us informed on your progress! Yes this is me making the decision for you already LOL!