Passed CEH! 2/9/16

danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
I wanted this cert for a long time. I was slated to take it in March, but I didn't want to put it off any longer, so I changed the date to take it this morning. I trained for a year on and off reading M. Gregg's (2013) book, stopped around Sept. and switched gears and took the CASP (which in my opinion was harder for me) because of the exam update with newer topics incorporated into it. I studied the newest CEH slides, which weren't bad. The exam was pretty straight forward. Without violating the NDA I can't go into specifics: A few things you should study are Risk Management topics (I was surprised by the amount of questions on this), Nmap commands (as expected), How to calculate an Annual Loss Expectancy, U.S. Computer Laws, vulnerabilities discussed in other posts here, etc. What helped the most were the postings here about the CEH, and my University's classes (undergrad cyber security/digital forensics) I used a lot of tools (in kali linux) during my coursework (cyber threats & detection, wireless security, network security, etc.) and knowing what they do and how they work really helped me. I scored 92% in about 45 min or so. I may go for the CCNA R&S or the CISSP next. No matter what cert exam I take, I always leave with my head spinning. So a small break for me and studying will begin again. Thanks to all of you for your wisdom and advice I surely appreciate it.
I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats! update your cert signature!
  • danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Thanks KMasta! I just did! lol
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Thanks Cyberguy!
  • Brain-DBrain-D Member Posts: 134
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□