Seeking Entry into InfoSec

Mokusei1975Mokusei1975 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone.

I've read a lot of the "seeking entry" posts on this board and it seems many of the folks already have a background in the general field (helpdesk/desktop support, etc.).

My situation is that I have no experience at all and am wanting to "break in" to the field. I'm currently reading up on the "how-to's" and "getting started" types of posts but would like to get some opinions from some of you folks on the best course of action.

I also am in a position where schooling isn't financially feasible so it would have to be "on the cheap" or something I could do on my own. I'm in the middle of studying for the A+ having already taken and passed the 801 and doing some proper studying for the 802 (mild oversight on my part on the choice of materials for the 802 and just barely missed passing it).

I'm simply seeking entry and will go from there once I get a feel for the various "flavors" of InfoSec (currently reading Lesley Carhart's blog posts).

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It's tough to answer these thoroughly, because there is so much to talk about. Generally speaking, you're doing the right thing by reading blogs and paying attention to people in the field who are well-regarded. There really isn't anything we can say here that Lesley hasn't tried to acknowledge in her blog posts that you mentioned.

I have an IR job in the valley - if you have any specific questions, feel free to PM me.
  • TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□