What are my chances at passing?

techtiatechtia Member Posts: 144
Hello, I am currently studying for the A+ and will take it rather soon. I have a bachelors in a non-IT major but hasn't worked out very well for me at all. I am not exactly 'changing careers' but IT could be a possibility for me.

I was wondering if after passing the A+, without any experience in the IT field, would it be hard to pass the Security+ (skipping Network+)?

I want to take exams that are most valuable today to employers.

Thanks for your help, appreciate it.

Comments

• johnnyqt25johnnyqt25 Banned Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Going for S+ without N+ is generally not a good idea, because many concepts in S+ builds on the knowledge of N+. It's definitely doable to do S+ without N+ though. It'll just be harder to pass S+ without getting N+ first.
  • SwaswaswaSwaswaswa Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Agreed. In Security+ a lot of concepts rely on previous knowledge or experience. techita, I recommend you visit the CompTIA website and take a look at the exam objectives; compare Network+ to Security+ and see what you come up with.
  • techtiatechtia Member Posts: 144
    Well thanks guys, I am just a little behind my peers job wise and I just wanted to catch up the fastest way I can. I'm new to all these IT certs and such, don't really have an idea what area of IT I might enjoy most.
  • dhay13dhay13 Member Posts: 580 ■■■■□□□□□□
    i can understand that but there are no shortcuts to learning this stuff. i took my network+ in 2010 and now i'm studying for the security+ and there is alot of stuff from the network+ that i have forgot
  • cdxcdx Member Posts: 186
    There is a lot of net+ in the sec+ exam. I would recommend the path that Comptia recommends and is what I did as well. A+ > N+ > S+
    Bachelor of Science - Information Technology - Security
    Associate of Science - Computer Information Systems
  • $bvb379$bvb379 Member Posts: 155