Cisco and other vendors with voip

jcarrillo26jcarrillo26 Member Posts: 88 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello ,

I just have a general question regarding voip. I am new to voip, so I was wondering can cisco run with other voip phones like avaya? I know cisco runs sccp while avaya runs sip. Can this happen? Do most vendors allow for industry standard protocols to run on different vendor equipment? I hope I explained this right.

Comments

• jcarrillo26jcarrillo26 Member Posts: 88 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I know this is the case for ospf, rip, 802.1q. I am just unsure for voip.
  • TheNewITGuyTheNewITGuy Member Posts: 169 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Cisco will do SIP but you're gonna be better off running SCCP or SPCP
    Hello,

Thanks for the feedback and the reply. So i am assuming that SIP is industry standard while SCCP or SPCP is vendor specific for Cisco right?
  • TheNewITGuyTheNewITGuy Member Posts: 169 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Correct, SCCP is vendor specific to Cisco however I think Asterisk has a SCCP implementation. Linksys SPA phones use SPCP or SIP. Mitel uses MiNet, Avaya uses proprietary protocols as well or extensions. Shortel even..
  • OfWolfAndManOfWolfAndMan Member Posts: 923 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It depends on the model of phone. For example, the 7925 wireless Cisco VoWLAN phone only supports SCCP:
    Cisco Unified Wireless IP Phone 7925G - Cisco

While the wired 7962G supports both:
    Cisco Unified IP Phone 7962G - Cisco

Same with many other protocol implementations, Cisco or not. Some use open standard, some use strictly proprietary, some use a mix of both (Which is the most common as of more recent). For example, LLDP and CDP are both supported on newer Cisco network nodes, however on the older CDP was only supported. Having LLDP support for your Avaya VoIP really helps as you don't have to configure your phones as a trunk port.