infosec certs for an attorney with no IT experience - any suggestions?

happygoluckyiamhappygoluckyiam Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone! Longtime lurker who has learned a lot from this forum. Awesome place.

I'm an attorney, Oxford and Berkeley trained, who is looking to blend the two technical aspects of our respected professions. I've come across a lot of lawyers who are "cybersecurity lawyers," but don't have any certs. Not that certs are everything, but they do show a level of competence. My hope is to get some certs so that people I work with, or for, have the general sense that i'm not a poser looking to capitalize on the infosec explosion. Additionally, I want to be able to communicate with infosec professionals and have a common ground of understanding. I'm open to working in IT to gain some experience, but my future in the next 5 months is unpredictable as I go on the job market soon in another state.

Anyways, here is where I am:
  1. I've always been interested in pentesting, so I signed up with Elearnsecurity. I passed the EJPT and i'm signed up for, and working slowly through, the ECPPT course and certification (Elite package so I can take my time and really learn pentesting). My original goal was ECPPT then OSCP, but I don't currently have or foresee having the funds to drop on OSCP plus extensions.
  2. Taking the Sec+ in a week or less. My experience is that this is basic stuff that I mostly already knew. Basically wanted some recognized infosec cert on my resume with my upcoming job search.
  3. Wanting to build off the memorization foundation I was thinking of taking the SSCP in late March (that would give me an associate title). I did a lot of research on CASP, but the performance based questions seem rather complex (plus i'm paying out of pocket with no cushion for failure).