Questions regarding CAPM for anyone that has taken it

I am studying now for CAPM certification using Joseph Phillips course on Udemy for the educational hours needed and also bought his book and studying that as well. My question is for someone like me that has only worked on projects as a team member in the past, mostly IT projects like PC Refresh projects, site move projects which I led one of them, will this be wise for me to start with this certification?

I would like to maybe get into a Jr level project manager position or coordinator position at some point but mostly wondering if this CAPM is mostly for someone that is already a full blown project manager with experience. Guess what I am getting to is.. if I am not currently a project manager or have little experience does it make sense to take this cert? I don't have the qualifications for PMP.

Thanks for any input anyone has on this
Currently working on CCENT/CCNA and CAPM

Comments

• JameswebJamesweb Member Posts: 144
    WoW! so no one on here has taken the CAPM and can give any input to the questions above? Still looking for any input if anyone has anything.

Thanks in advance
  • twodogs62twodogs62 Member Posts: 393 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Working on CAPM myself. I also think joe's CAPM course is good. He just released a good study guide too included with that course.
    i didn't get it taken in December as planned, got busy with work and delayed it.
    CAPM is much easier to qualify. 35 hrs of training versus PMP wants true project mgmt experience the previous 7 hours or so.

i think jr pm would be good to take CAPM. Look at application for PMP and start keeping good log of your project experience. In 5 years when you need to renew CAPM, take PMP instead!!!

just my thoughts. I have to take my CAPM by July.
  • GlynixxGlynixx Member Posts: 138