Starting OSCP on 3/26

partyboiipartyboii Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Just passed my CISA and decided that OSCP is my next challenge.

I graduated nearly 2.5 years ago and got a job in IT auditing right out of school. Fortunately, I've learned a lot and have had the opportunity to try my hand at pen testing on a few audits, which is where I want to eventually end up. I figure the OSCP is a good way to take the skills to the next level while opening up my opportunities for the future.

I've read various reviews of the course on this site and others and intend to draw upon the experience of others to help me through the content and the certification. I purchased 60 days of lab access, with the intention to extend my lab time if needed.

As far as my current knowledge goes, I've been into IT and computers for years, have a degree in CIS, and have been in IT audit for 2.5 years. I have moderate knowledge/experience with Kali and many of its tools, and as I said above I have utilized it on a few pen testing engagements. I'd say my knowledge of Windows is advanced. My weak points are going to be scripting (bash/python/ruby/etc.) and exploit development. I plan to take the next month to work through the course syllabus and hone my skills in these areas as from what I've read, they are essential for the course/cert.

I will keep you guys updated on developments.

Comments

• SlythSlyth Member Posts: 58 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Glad to hear your starting soon! I start on 3/12!
  • core22core22 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Nice! I start mine this weekend on March 5th.
    CISSP | GPEN | GWAPT | GCIH | CEH | CHFI | Security+
    BS - InfoSec, Drexel University - Summa Cum Laude
  • jmfdjmfd Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I also start on March 5th. I am super pumped!
    WGU B.S.I.T. - Information Security | Completed January 2016
  • jonenojoneno Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Whaddup boii...are you still tackling the cert?