CASP April 2016

firemike314firemike314 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Kind of nervous for CASP. I have 8 years of ISSE however; I have heard that this test is some what challenging. I have the McMillan book and CD that I am studying from and seem to get about a 60% on the practice exams that come with the book. Any ideas on how I could tighten the wrench on this thing? I plan on taking it this April and CISSP this fall while I start my MS in Digital Forensics this Fall as well.

Comments

• RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You might want to post this into CASP forum or maybe a moderator can move it. However, I used CASP-002 book and the book assumes that you did NOT take the Security+ prior to this exam. It's full of all the information needed to take the exam.
  • firemike314firemike314 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thank you for the reply! I think I am getting ready at a good pace, I just worry that I wont pass. Is this exam that much harder than SEC+?
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I am not sure if it's harder or not. There's obviously some level of overlap. The one certain thing is that the scope is different. The recommended experience for CASP is 10 years vs. just 2 for Sec+. I think it's definitely too much for both but that gives you an idea that they are no supposed to be equal.
    Thank you for the reply. I noticed that I do find a lot of overlap from SEC+ however; CASP is a lot more in depth in some aspects of the benchmarks to study. ill let you all know how it goes. I do have 7 years of ISSE so will see.
  • MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Are you using any other study materials? I have the same book.
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The exam is harder as it has simulation questions. You can read about it at The CompTIA CASP Exam Experience - TechExams.net IT Certification Blogs

FWIW, I used Sybex book to supplement my CISSP knowledge before taking CASP CAS-002 exam.