Virtualization Careers?

dcarey4698dcarey4698 Member Posts: 56 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I have just started to discover virtualization and how it works. I have very little basic knowledge of the technology. I see that many people are starting to get VMWare certs and I was wondering what types of jobs people are getting with these certs and what type of basic cert could I get to get my foot in the door in virtualization.

Thanks!

Comments

• markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would search in your area on job boards with VCP and see how many jobs come up. I would recommend getting a lab setup at your home and take the Stanley CC course for the ICM then get your VCP if you are seeing a lot of jobs there. Do you have much other IT experience? With some basic Windows sysadmin exp, a lab, a VCP, I'd think you'd be fairly marketable. Don't quote me on that though since I haven't really searched for any virtualization jobs (even though I work at VMware).
  • STANLY_CCSTANLY_CC Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□