CCNA/CCNP home lab

MotorheadMikeMotorheadMike Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. I've been in IT for a long time and have begun studying for the CCNA. I have some networking experience and don't find the material that difficult but it is interesting and challenging. My job involves some troubleshooting already and I have a lot of time to study in general. After the CCNA I plan to tackle the CCNP and one day, I hope, CCIE. One day...... :)

I would like to set up a home lab for CCNA that will also be used for CCNP so I can have the experience and also because I enjoy it. Money is a concern of course but I am OK with spending a bit.

I assume not to worry about CCIE applicability because it will be a long time before I get to that and I will have to get newer hardware for CCIE at that point. I also use emulators for CCNA so I figure I am most concerned that the lab be good for CCNP.

If anyone can help me with the best options for a CCNA/CCNP home lab I would be most grateful and I will treat you to dinner and adult beverages if you ever visit - or live in! - NYC.

Thanks!

Mike

Comments

• hiracelmo netohiracelmo neto Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    good morning people!

Please i need help for 300-135 test please someone help
  • SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327
    You've got two options; virtual labs or hardware labs. Personally, I prefer virtual labs - I think it's the easiest and quickest way to look at a topology and it's more time efficient. Most virtual labs are free, apart from VIRL.

The most popular virtual labs are:

GNS3
    Unetlab
    VIRL

Physical kit with CCNP scalablity:

3x3750 (useful for stacking at CCNP level, although a 3560 is suffice as this supports private vlans)
    2x2610xm

You could simply configure your switch with the command "ip routing" which will turn the switch into a layer 3 device. This will enable you to do most stuff for CCNA level exept frame relay.