Best Begineer Powershell Learning materials?

DrekkoDrekko Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys
I am wanting to learn powershell. I have no experience with it
I have just started watching CBT Nuggets Powershell v4 Foundations , and in my head I am asking, what the hell are you on about...!

Just wondering if anyone knows any other good Powershell videos for beginners?
PluralSight? ITProTV

Books?

Obviously looking for people who have actually already read or watched the above to see their opinions

preferably something with practice labs? or exercises?

Comments

• wayne_wonderwayne_wonder Member Posts: 215 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Don Jones powershell in a month of lunch's is all you need its a really good book and isn't a monster 1000 page type either
  • DrekkoDrekko Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Don Jones powershell in a month of lunch's is all you need its a really good book and isn't a monster 1000 page type either

https://www.cbtnuggets.com/it-training/microsoft-windows-powershell-2-3-4

Same as this?
    Does it have exercise labs etc?
  • wayne_wonderwayne_wonder Member Posts: 215 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Yeah has excercises its a good learning book failing that use MVA academy and the microsoft on-line labs so you can get hands on
  • dancreaneydancreaney Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I learned by trying to solve small problems, or make small efficiency improvements with PowerShell scripts. For example, a script to check disk space levels on my servers and e-mail me the results each morning. I started by deconstructing scripts others had already written and re-writing and combining them. There are plenty of pre-made scripts available via a Google search. PowerShell Cookbook is a great resource for applying PS practically.
  • QordQord Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yeah has excercises its a good learning book failing that use MVA academy and the microsoft on-line labs so you can get hands on