Options

First term at WGU! How does my schedule look?

TurtleMouseTurtleMouse Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone! I've been talking with WGU for a couple months, and after completing the requirements have finally been accepted. This post is to see if my goals are realistic, and maybe share some stories of your own.

I have spent some time lurking the individual certs/WGU classes, but it's always nice to have friendly members comment!

*Most of my experience is in computer networking. I never cared to get any certs because they'd all expire by the time my enlistment would end. Now that I'm getting closer to finishing my enlistment, I'd like to pursue some certs while earning a degree.
I also have 2 coworkers pursuing their own degrees through WGU.

Background:
- Some community college
- Military - IT based career
- 3 years of experience
- Security + cert
- Limited, but some, experience in SQL, Scripting, Linux

Weekly study schedule:
Mon-Thurs: 3-4 hours (depending on my lunch break)
Fri: 1-2 hours
Sat-Sun: 4-5 hours
Total: Minimum 20 hours

I have 4 Gen ed classes left, and the rest are the certifications need to get a degree.

Here's how I've broken down my first term:

Gen Ed:
Intro to Probability and Statistics = 1 week
Critical Thinking and Logic = 1 week
Organizational Behavior and Logic = 1 week
Business of IT - Applications = 1 week
Total: 9CUs

CompTIA Certs:
CompTIA A+ = 2 weeks
CompTIA Net+ = 2 weeks
CompTIA Project + = 2 weeks
CompTIA Linux + = 6 weeks
Total: 24CUs

Data Management:
Foundations/Applications = 6 weeks
Total: 7CUs

Total: 5.5 Months / 40CUs

Anyone think this is too much? I know I've read of people doing a TON of CUs, and know a couple people who a little more than minimum. I feel like this is a little above average.