Question about Requirements to take CEH

ActiveMeasurersActiveMeasurers Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Fellas,

First time poster, short time reader.

I have been studying for CEH for a few months. I am planning on taking the exam once I study up more on the V9 topics. I have read there are some issues with people signing up for the V8 but getting V9 exams.

I have real world working knowledge equivalent to Comptia A+ and Network+. I am pretty proficient with Kali Linux and Web App Pen Testing.

Anyway, my main question is this. Is there any way around the requirement that I show two years of experience in Information Security? In my current job, I have been handling all of the companies IT needs and that includes security. I have been at this job for a little over a year, but IT is not my main responsibility.

I have recently started my own company doing basic Web App Vulnerability Testing and Web App Penetration testing for businesses that are similar to the one I work at, specifically their E-Commerce websites.

So basically, a little over one year experience at my job, and about two months experience owning my own company in InfoSec.

Thanks a ton ahead of time. I am looking forward to participating more in the community.

Comments

• Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The process is documented at Application Process Eligibility
    Basically, EC-Council will contact your boss/supervisor/department head listed in your eligibility form to validate the 2 years experience. In my case, my manager was contacted via e-mail, and he faxed the signed completed form back to EC-Council.

The alternative around the 2 years requirement is to attend an authorized CEH course; which I assume is not what you want.

Else I suggest you go for OSCP, which is well recognised in the pen testing field.
  • ActiveMeasurersActiveMeasurers Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply.