Options

Resume Check

Russ5813Russ5813 Member Posts: 123 ■■■□□□□□□□
Good morning! Recently, a couple of entry-level/intermediate InfoSec-GRC jobs have opened up in my area. I'm still fairly new to IT, but I'm hoping my military/LE experience will make me a competitive candidate for a GRC role. I only have about 8 months at my current job, which I know can be viewed negatively, but GRC is the dream and I simply can't pass up the opportunity to at least apply. I've tailored a resume to fit one of the job descriptions, which I've attached to this post, and would really appreciate a second (third, fourth, etc...) set of eyes to look things over and provide some feedback.

I'm also curious what kind of questions I might expect if I land an interview. I'm guessing these might be dependent on the security framework they use?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    AverageJoeAverageJoe Member Posts: 316 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well written and easy-to-read format. Only thing that jumped out at me was that under Military Police you have "Lead" where you should have "Led." Personally, I'd put your education and credentials before your professional experience, but certainly no right or wrong. Nice job!
  • Options
    bloodshotbettybloodshotbetty Member Posts: 215
    I would echo putting your education and credentials up top. Employers get a lot of resumes- grab their attention right away.

A+ certified
    Bachelors of Science in Social Work, Augsburg College
    Working on: Network+
  • Options
    Excellent, thank you both for your replies! I moved education and certification under my summary and I think I like it better there as well. Did you get the impression that I enjoy teaching? Do you think I should add more about my experience with federal/state regulations as LE?
  • Options
    MitechniqMitechniq Member Posts: 286 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Some of the previous answers relate to the format of your resume, I would like to address your pursuit of a GRC position.