Beginning my IT Career Net+, Linux+ and Security+ certified. What should I do?

MpstylerMpstyler Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone. I've come here because I'm looking for some help on how I should start off my career. To start, getting in IT is a career change. I've always had an interest in IT and after getting stood-up by a bunch of companies while trying to get help-desk positions, I decided to expand my chances by going to school, getting training, and getting some certifications. After about 150+ classroom hours going through "bootcamps", I am currently Security+ and Linux+ certified, and about a week from now after studying the rest of this week, I'm certain I'll be Network+ certified. I have 7 years of experience in customer service as a waiter, but again, no professional IT experience. I live in Virginia Beach, VA (Hampton Roads) and being that the largest navy base on the East Coast is only 20 miles from where I live, the DoD has a huge presence here and there are a lot of IT jobs that involve it.

To be honest, I know, and at the same time I don't know, what I'm getting myself into. A lot of what I feel I've learned seems applicable to someone in a higher-tier position. I don't think I'll be managing ACL's, creating groups and users, managing permissions, viewing logs on a switch and configuring routing protocols anytime soon, but at this point, I'd ideally like to utilize what I do know and have learned based on the certifications I have. At the same time I wonder how much of what I know will be resourceful for whatever position I'm in. Maybe my cert's are mostly irrelevant and just viewed as a piece of paper? Maybe they really do matter. I'm unsure.