OSCP for relative newbie in industry?

towentumtowentum Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
While I'm new to the infosec industry, I've got a decade of IT experience under my belt. This experience is wrapped around several different facets of IT. My focus has been in networking but I've done systems, development (mostly web), data center, and much more.
I've always been interested in information security and so I took a position working as a SOC Analyst for a media company. It's mostly ticket pushing, but I have to start somewhere. My interest is in pentesting and security consulting so I've been looking at certifications that align with that goal.
I've always been cynical of certifications. I've worked with many people that hold high level certs and almost always question how they got them. I know brain **** exist and I know people use them. This is what interests me in the OSCP, it's not something you can brain ****. However, I have very limited hands on experience.
I have a strong understanding of security principles and theory but running exploits and recognizing common attack vectors isn't something I have a lot of experience in.
So, for the question. Is the OSCP something I should attempt or would I be wasting my money?

Comments

• 9emin19emin1 Member Posts: 46 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I am roughly in the same situation as you buddy. I have far, far less experience. I know where is my interest and passion, and I've decided to go ahead and attempt it. Even if I were to fail, I know that I'll learn a lot :)
    CREST CCT APP, CRT, CPSA.
    Offensive Security OSCE, OSCP, OSWP
    SANS GCIH
    https://9emin1.github.io/
  • TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well ... right from the horse's mouth here's what Offensive-Security says about what will be helpful to be successful: