CompTIA Security+ Supplement for no experience?

UsualSuspect7UsualSuspect7 Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey,

Background:

I'm a graduate student completing my last semester this December in MS Cyber Security. I have my B.S in Computer Programming and Information System. I’m currently interested in InfoSec certificates. I recently completed the CEH Study Guide book, but given the discrepancy with the exam being change; I decided to study for CompTIA Security+. Location: NYC.

I have 0 experience in the security field, but have 4 years experience in Networking and Help Desk Administration combined. I was expose to certain areas of security, but it was not my main job detailed.

Problem:

Most security jobs requires some form of experience within the security field. I’m wandering would a compTIA Security+ certificate help supplement my lack of work experience within the security industry?
CISSP, CCENT, CCNA R/S, CCNA Cyber OPs, Security+, CySA+, PenTest+, Network+, Microsoft AZ-900, InsightVM CA

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Having Security+ will help but it's not going to replace experience. A lot of people pass Security+ without a lot of experience but two years working in the field is so different because it gives you a lot of the practical knowledge.

Let's put it another way...you aren't going to get real good jobs without getting certifications so take the exam because that shows you have entry level knowledge.
  • UsualSuspect7UsualSuspect7 Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank You, I was wandering considering it's so difficult to find an entry level job within the Security arena. Most employers are seeking entry level positions with 2 years experience. I appreciate your insight.
    CISSP, CCENT, CCNA R/S, CCNA Cyber OPs, Security+, CySA+, PenTest+, Network+, Microsoft AZ-900, InsightVM CA
  • TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□