Options

Going Into Security+, Request Help With Perspective

LawlessFlowLawlessFlow Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Found this site through Google today, and it strikes me as a great resource as I go into this. I've read around a bit and I have a couple questions, but first some background.

I'm working on a masters in "Cybersystems and Information Security" and I've started looking into certifications. Now, I've never taken a certification before. Ever. The closest I've experienced was sitting for the GRE to get into graduate school. I work in IT as a systems admin at a very small bookkeeping company (I'm one of two in the IT/IS dept), and go to school as well. My boss(other IT guy/ network admin), everyone at school, and a couple of would be employers have sent me down this path of certification as something I need in order to have an edge in my career.

So my questions:
1) Is this a feasible first certification? I've had some people tell me, and have read others say, that this is a good first step and others (like my boss) suggest taking Network+ first (He himself has no certs, but has been studying on and off (mostly off) for both the Network+ and Security+ for... 4 years?(his words not mine)). I want to start working towards CEH and CISSP eventually, but I'm aware those are not by any means a starting point.

2) What's a feasible amount of study time? I'd like to take it in the next 3 months, preferably in one month, a week and a half after finals. It seems some people study a week and ace it and others spend months to fail. Is it just incredibly variable depending on pre-existing knowledge (I'd suspect so)? Right now, I'm planning to buy a book and base my examination date on how foreign the material strikes me.