OSCP v. eLearnSecurity: Which is best for a beginner?

tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
I've been making plans to register for OSCP. Been doing research based on their syllabus. The threads here are great. Today, I was talking with a few colleagues who are working on OSCP, and they told me how tough it's been for them. I've also been looking at eLearnSecurity's training. Which one, OSCP or eLearnSecurity, would be better for a relative beginner? I've been working in security for several years but on the administrative/GRC side, and now I have the opportunity to grow my technical skills. I don't want to jump in over my head, especially given the cost of OSCP. Should I start with eLearnSecurity's Penetration Testing Student first and then work on OSCP after that? I really want to learn these skills so I can better serve my agency.

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    OSCP isn't great for absolute beginners. There's a learning curve and you'll need dedicated time to pick it up quickly.
  • PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    If I could right now, I would take advantage of the ELS 20% off discount before it expires.
  • tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Thanks for the advice. A friend with OSCP and about 15 years of experience said the same thing. My original plan was to learn as much as I can from the OSCP syllabus on my own before even starting. I'll suggest to my boss that I take the eLearnSecurity training and certification exams (eJPT and then maybe eCPPT) before approaching OSCP. And good deal on the discount!
  • adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    do elearnsecurity if you are a beginner.
  • MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
    OSCP is definitely not gear towards beginners. Elearnsecurity on the other hand, seems to be perfect for that. To top it off, they are doing 20% off right now.