Feeling Down After CISSP 1st Attempt

SAM69SAM69 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear All,

I had been preparing since June 2015. Watched Kelly Handerhan videos, read the Sybex 7th Edition guide and attempted the practice exams.
Just didn't make the mark on 31 Mar.
Trying now to patch and pick up the bits and pieces that I didn't grasp the concepts well and looking at the domains that I did poorly.
I have a colleague who started with only the Sybex 7th Edition guide since last Dec 2015 and made it on his 1st attempt recently.
Hoping to make it on the 2nd attempt but unsure when I would be ready for it.
Your kind advise will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Never give up. Fail forward.
  • 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Its a tough test to be sure. You aren't the first person who had difficulties with it, and you won't be the first person to fail once and succeed on the second attempt. Now that you've taken the test, you know what kind of questions are asked and how they are asked. You're 100% more informed than you were before going in blind. Use that new knowledge to tailor your studies.
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Sounds like you're going about it the right way, pay special attention to the sections you had trouble with before. Were you close at least? Did you go back and change too many questions at the end?
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Since you've already read Sybex, I'd say give Eric Conrad's CISSP Study Guide a shot. And maybe even the 11th Hour too.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    SAM69 wrote: »