70-410 Frustration - Hyper-V - take it out of the MCSE track!

coralreefguycoralreefguy Member Posts: 98 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for the MCSE: Server Infrastructure exam. I've been using Server 2012 R2 in the small/medium business market for roughly 3 years now and have had exposure to just about every server function/feature. I'm the primary systems administrator for the windows environment in my current role managing more than 200 servers.

I'm really frustrated at the amount of Hyper-V content on these exams. Personally I have used Hyper-V in the past, but usually at a small-scale (one or two hosts with a dozen or so VMs each). I find ESXI to be the dominate on-premise virtualization technology for most businesses. I've also got a lot of exposure to both AWS and Azure cloud platforms. Hyper-V just doesn't compare, in my opinion.

Microsoft should move Hyper-V from the MCSE track to a separate exam or two. Most of it I'm learning just to learn (and will likely forget after I'm done studying/labbing) for the case of these exams. Strengthening my virtualization skillset isn't necessarily a bad thing (I already hold VCP5-DCV) but I don't think it should be crammed into the existing MCSE track.

Thoughts?
System Administrator / DevOps guy

2015 passed: CCNA R/S, CCNA Sec, Project+, VCP5-DCV
2016 goals: MCSE Server 2012; continue to use/learn more Chef w/Ruby and Powershell on Azure

Comments

• TacoRocketTacoRocket Member Posts: 497 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm currently studying for the MCSE: Server Infrastructure exam. I've been using Server 2012 R2 in the small/medium business market for roughly 3 years now and have had exposure to just about every server function/feature. I'm the primary systems administrator for the windows environment in my current role managing more than 200 servers.