Passed CISSP on first try. Here's how

wiggidywackwiggidywack Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been preparing and studying for the exam for about 4 months, typically two hours a day of reading, with more time invested on the weekends taking practice tests, taking notes on the material I had a difficult time retaining, and reviewing the notes I took. I will say that the preparation time for this exam cannot be taken lightly, with continuous studying and reviewing required for success. There is SO much material here to be absorbed and understood that taking time away or breaks will only hinder the absorption process. This exam requires constant studying and review, at least for me.

Study methods/materials

Latest Eric Conrad book:
Read the entire book, but also highlighted and took notes throughout the book.
-Kept a separate notebook that I took notes on for each chapter. This was topics that I either didn't quite remember, or had a difficult time remembering.

Shon Harris 4th edition, along with her book of test questions.
I did not read the entire book, but referenced at least 70% of it from other reading and testing material, or referred to this book if I didn't quite get the concept. Shon did a fantastic job, in my opinion, of explaining topics, and made it easy to understand; albeit a little long winded.

ISC2 CISSP Sybex 7th edition Official Study Guide.
This book to me was golden. It filled in the extra spaces left behind by Eric Conrads book. This book was a good balance of between Shon Harris and Eric Conrad, but contained all the material I needed to pass, including updated exam topics. Believe me when I say, there are topics in this book you won't find in the other two I've read. There are some inaccuracies in this book, and it was apparent the author of the network/telecommunications chapters wasn't a "network" guy. Regardless, top notch book IMO.

CCCcure tests.