Options

I'll join in, I got a "new" job too!

Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
Why is it "new", because I'm a contractor flipped to FTE, finally. Typically this would mean a step down in pay because of the benefits, but in my case it went the other way quite a bit!

The longer version is that I when I wanted to change to a full security role I took a contractor position, my first time doing that, I was a W2 contractor to the recruiting company, but no benefits, etc. The hiring manager at the time was a MAJOR penny pincher, negotiations were kind of rough, I got them above their range but it still was less than I should have been making. Eventually I got a new security director who realized this and vowed to take care of me.

I was supposed to be hired in Dec but a company wide hiring freeze hit due to a weather related business downturn the offer ended up getting revoked as quickly as it was offered. This kicked off a chain of events where I started looking elsewhere and pushed heavily into self study for the CISSP.

In the end it really worked out quite well. By the time the hiring freeze lifted I had passed my CISSP (which my director thinks is the greatest thing ever since he has one, hah) and reworked my whole resume. They came back with a significantly better offer than they did in Dec, and even pushed me to a higher compensation structure so I get better benefits, bonus, etc, than the standard employees.

So, now I'm doing the same job I did before, but because of the changes I have the approval to hire someone below me to offload some day to day tasks so I can do more of the engineering work that needs to be done, same schedule and people I already liked, but being much better compensated for it, whew!

It was kind of a gamble after having the position frozen before but the cert prep and the couple months of them realizing they could very likely lose me paid off well in the end.

Comments

• Options