What Next??

g33k3rg33k3r Member Posts: 249 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am not sure if I am at a cross roads or have my experience has just expanded. I have over 12 years of Sys Admin experience where defensive security was always a component. Throughout that time I read books and practiced with offensive tools to gain a better understanding of what attackers may use. The last few years I've been fortunate to shift into dedicated security roles. My focus has been mainly on developing policies, procedures, reading standards, understanding different compliance requirements, performing risk assessments, implementing network monitoring programs, and communicating with leadership.

Some people have recommended to pursue the CISA next. Other say go for a GIAC cert (GSEC, GCIH, GMON). Or do the OSCP.

In my current role, the GRC components will be critical, but I will also need to continue to develop my technical chops to ensure our defensive strategy makes sense. I consider myself more of a blue team member.

What would people suggest next on the list of certs? I would love to attend more SANS training but it will be a tough sell to leadership and I cannot afford to pay for it myself.

Thanks for your feedback!

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The description of your current role entails, CISM seems logical and doesn't seem like a hard sell to your managers. GSEC, then GCED seems like a good roadmap to follow as well. GCED: GIAC Certified Enterprise Defender | GCED Certification
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • g33k3rg33k3r Member Posts: 249 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I wasn't too intereste in the CISM after the CISSP. I figured that might focus me on management only. I haven't looked into the GCED but it sounds interesting. I wish the SANS courses weren't so darn expensive, but they are top notch.
  • TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□