Passed on 2nd attempt!!

here2winhere2win Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the exam in my 2nd attempt yesterday.

I have no prior experience in networking. Took around 3 months to prepare well. Spent almost 5 hours per day in preparation.

Here are my recommended readings...

Exam preparation:

Mike Myers Lynda videos (Gave me a very good intro to networking)
Professor Messers videos (They're free)
Professor Messers Study Guide (Professor Messer's CompTIA N10-006 Network+ Course Notes | Professor Messer IT Certification Training Courses)
Exam Cram
Check Tech Exams forums for exam tips and preparation
Countless other websites from google search

Simulation:

Exercises and simulation from Keith Barker book CD. This includes Pearson simulation that can be brought separately
Total Sem online simulations
Home router wireless configurations

Practice Exams
:

Total Sem practice exams

Exam 1st Attempt Experience:

The exam was pretty easy, but I didn't have any time to complete the simulations. I almost didn't answer 4-5 simulations. Scored around 620.

Exam 2nd Attempt Preparations:

Bought Total Sem practice exams for managing time. Practiced more than 1000 questions and around 5 full exams. I managed to complete the multiple choice questions within 30 min in practice exams. Also practiced extra simulations from Total Sem I felt confident and registered for 2nd attempt.

In the 2nd exam, the questions were extremely hard. I almost gave up in the middle of the exam. But the practices I took for the simulations helped really well and help me to complete the exam with 30 min to spare. I spent the 30 min to revise, read carefully and corrected where needed. I passed with 740.

Tips:
  1. Practice, Practice and Practice a lot. Studying is only 50% of preparation
  2. Study with the exam syllabus from CompTIA website. If something from the syllabus is not covered in textbook, refer from other websites