Advice required for a career move

mekanikmekanik Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I just joined recently, but have been reading the before for quiet some time now. I am also even acted upon the advices imparted especially for the certification to follow for IT security specialization, but i am still confused so i decided to ask my doubts.

Something about myself, I have 6+ years of experience in software development, mainly on networking/telecom products like routers and switches. I am a undergraduate in computer science. IT security was always my interested, Initially i would credit that interest was due to movies icon_redface.gif but later the fact that it was real that you get paid to penetrate a system or even investigate the hack was what got me really interested.

Now I know i should i have decided on the career path much before, but was always confused i never got much support from my manager/mentor/team members on this regard other in the s.w dev field. Since i was aware of the networking aspects, i decided to get my feet wet in IT security with CEH, which i completed though not with a great score. So going forward would be CISSP & OSCP for both career opportunity and to get the real know how of pen testing.

But my confusion , in that IT security field the job would be of Testing and administration aspect, right?
So does a software developer should make that move? Is it possible that i can carry my exp from dev side to testing/admin side? Is it worth while to do so?
Certs need to be renewed right, is there any advantage of certs over Graduation/Post-Graduation, where the latter does not require any of it.