SSCP next week, am I ready?

relegatedrelegated Member Posts: 81 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am taking the SSCP next week to renew my Security+ and also want to get my CISSP. I took the Security+ 3 years ago and I found it to be an easy test. As I read through SSCP AIO book I am finding the material to be very similar to the Security+. without breaking NDA is this book enough to get me through? If I know the material in the book should I be good to go?

Comments

• tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    After I earned Security+, I started studying for SSCP. I went through Darril Gibson's SSCP AIO very quickly and thought it was just a kind of enhanced Security+ study guide. To be fair, he did a great job following the SSCP course objectives. It's just that his SSCP AIO didn't go as deep as it needed to. Someone recommended that I study CASP to prepare for SSCP, since CASP is also a practitioner-based certification but on a higher level than SSCP. I bought Michael Gregg's CASP guide and studied the sections that related to SSCP. Then I went through the same thing with Cybrary's CASP, CISSP, Cryptography, and Cloud+ training. And of course, I kept up with all of the technical things that I had to memorize for the Security+ exam (ports, RAID, etc.). I will always recommend using more than one source for training, because everybody has a different point of view and some are better at explaining difficult topics. For example, Kelly Handerhan's (Cybrary) talk on PKI really clicked for me. I was never able to understand it fully from any other source. But after listening to her explain it, the lightbulb in my head went off. Finally I got it. And understanding PKI helped me on the test. The same holds true for so many other topics. For example, knowing all of the common port numbers and how they are used made a difference for me.