Options

Completely Overwhelmed

teknologikalteknologikal Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've posted earlier in the month in MCSE, but realized I need to go back to the basics. So here it is

I was just laid off a month ago after 5+ years with the same firm. I was senior desktop support, jr. system admin, IT manager, and everything in between

]I started looking for new work and I am losing my sh*t because I am realizing I don't know squat. I have more than 10 years of IT experience, but no certifications. And I am not even looking to get certified, although I will, as much as just learning new things. I started with MCSE, but I realized that I don't know much about Microsoft's way of doing things. I was mostly learning everything on the job and never had the chance to study the official way of doing things. I am very quick learner and I do love and understand technology, but I've realized how much I don't know. I am starting with Windows 7 right as it's still widely used in many environments.

]I guess I am trying to figure out how did I manage all these years without knowing so much of the MS world? I was able to work for a very long time with the knowledge I acquired on the job, but I am looking through the Windows 7 Admin book and I am just depressed. I don't know a lot about deploying Windows 7 the Microsoft way. I've worked in VMware environment and there was a much different way (VMware View) to deploy Windows OS to users. I do have a home lab and I am going to dive into heavily. I am also feeling the burn out. So much information that I am trying to cram into my head in a short period of time.