Some job advice

$bvb379$bvb379 Member Posts: 155
I got my first IT job on April 27th. A little background....I have a business degree, have played sports my whole life, and am very social. I was never that person who sat on his computer all day, everyday. As of recent, I have been because I am trying to learn as much as I can but I do need proper training and I will get to that in the "cons" section. I was emailed by a guy I know who is a L3 tech support, pretty much a manager, at a hardware based cyber-security company and he said I should apply there. It would most likely be around a 10K raise from where I am right now and it is 10 minutes closer to my house. Also, I don't want to burn bridges or dip out this soon. I voiced my concerns about the short stay I would have if I moved jobs to the person at the cyber security company and he didn't really seemed bothered by it. I also wouldn't really know what to put on my resume except for the job title.

Current Company

Pros:
- The company is small, 15-20 employees so you know everyone and everyone knows you.
- We work on a lot of different issues, mostly windows and anything else the client wants. That being said, I get a lot of hands on experience, it isn't just phone or email support. We use RDP, Logmein, Go To Assist as well as go to client sites.
- The owners and co-workers are great as well.
(Probably more pros but I want to get on with it)
- Gas and oil changes are paid for due to us having to use our own vehicles to drive to client sites.
- We can claim our gas mileage on our taxes....one guy said he got 5K back or something like that.

Cons: