RHCA timeframe

BodanelBodanel Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys

the new year started with a new job for me a new ideea came to my head. Since at my current workplace they pay for courses and I need to update my RHCE to RHEL7 I thought to go the extra mile and get RHCA datacenter. If you have some of the certificates of expertise from RH could you please share your feedback and tell me if a 2 year timeframe is realistic. I work as a Linux engineer for several years now and I dont think that updating my RHCE will take very much of my time.
I really would love some feedback here before going for this.

Comments

• asummersasummers Member Posts: 157
    There are 5 exams. 3-4 months per exam sounds very doable. Will also allow you to learn the subject rather than "just what you need for the exam"
  • brombulecbrombulec Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's doable in 6 months :) Trust me :> But you need some experience with RHEL :)
  • BodanelBodanel Member Posts: 214 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I work daily with various RHEL versions so this is not an issue. I was thinking at a 2 year timeframe taking into account busy schedule sometimes, VACATIONS etc. So this seems doable.
    Bodanel wrote: »
    I work daily with various RHEL versions so this is not an issue. I was thinking at a 2 year timeframe taking into account busy schedule sometimes, VACATIONS etc. So this seems doable.

I was lucky that I had some projects related to the exams :)
    And the path was quite funny :
    RH318 (1.5 year without any RHEL Exams) -> RH413 (May) -> RH 436 (July) -> RH 210 (August) -> RH401 (September) -> RH200/RH300 (renewal) (September). And after that I had RH236 (June next year) :)
    I took only one course - RH318 - but IMHO it's a waste of time and money. Docs from RH.com are more than enough to pass 318, 436, and 236.
  • u2brutusu2brutus Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi brombulec,