CCIE longevity??

razarrazar Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
This is a difficult one for me.

I've been studying for my ccie r&s for the past 6 months or so. And at times I think is it actually worth it? The amount of time and effort that is required, and what is the reward? Or how long will that reward last.

The networking industry as a whole seems to be going through quite a lot of changes over the past few years with the introduction of sdn's/cloud based devices etc.

I work in the enterprise space, and there are sd-wan devices that can build vpn tunnels by the click of a few buttons. My company have just bought a Meraki mx65w firewall and some z1's and it is so easy to build full mesh vpn's, not only that you get so much information out of them. Wireless can be setup in 10 minutes. Much easier than deploying any 2500/4400 series WLC.

I've just tried out the new denali ios xe on a 3650 and the gui is quite nice, I was surprised. 10x better than times gone by, at the moment you can't configure routing on there but I'm guessing it won't be too long until they release some updates that allow this. Cisco have even said that the cli should be "the last resort" Cisco says CLI becoming interface of last resort

I've been spending 4 hours a day on average every day studying for the ccie, and i'll continue to do so. Just having doubts as to whether i'm doing the right thing or would be better off switching focus to something else - CCDE/scripting/Linux/Security etc. While it's difficult finding the time to study with work/family/kids I don't mind putting the effort in if it's going to be a benefit in the long run. Just a bit worried that those benefits will soon start to diminish. Cisco are even releasing a cloud based phone now!!

Anyone else have these doubts about the industry and the way things are going? Or is it just me?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod