Is this a good path to become a pen-tester/security analyst?

drydry Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm assuming a 'security analyst' is basically a pen-tester that works with security engineers, and a 'security engineer' is a developer? I'm a beginner, so I don't entirely understand the differences.

Starting a 2-year InfoTechSec program at my community college this fall and it should help prepare me for Network+ -> Security+ -> Linux+.

Also helps me prepare for the A+ and cisco-related certifications, but I plan to skip those and just take the 3 I mentioned above.

After I get my AD and baseline certs, I'll transfer to uni to get a bachelor's degree in Cyber Security while working on the following:
CEH -> CISSP -> OSCP -> OSWE -> OSCE.

I'm aware that there's quite a huge gap between some of these certifications and a lot of motivation is required. I just want to know a proper order to learn in, so I don't end up all confused. Not sure what the specific 'specialties' are for security analysts but websites seem to be my main area of interest. Currently, I'm learning more about the OSI model and messing around with Python/JavaScript.

Any certifications I should add/remove or take one before another?
Thanks

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Rule #1 is that titles mean nothing and vary from enterprise to enterprise. For example, at my current company a security analyst is a blue team person who does a lot of log analysis and correlation, forensics, reporting, security awareness, and a myriad other things. The security engineers maintain existing solutions (IPS, NSM, Data Analytics, etc.) and solve security problems. We listen to the needs of the business and come up with solutions. In some other places a security analyst would be expected to know red + blue team tasks, firewalls, proxies, SIEM, DLP, reverse engineering, etc.