Passed CISSP on May 28

tuanp703tuanp703 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the CISSP exam yesterday (1st attempt).The exam was a beast. It tested both your knowledge, reason skill, and mental resiliency. Around question 180 or so, I felt like I was fending off a DDoS from an army of zombies. I took a short break and resumed my combats to complete the test with about 35 minutes remaining.

My preparation started in Mid March. I studied on my own using several resources:

1) CISSP 3rd edition, Eric Conrad, Seth Misenar and Joshua Feldman
2) CISSP Official Study Guide, 7th ed, James Stewart, Mike Chapple, Darril Gibson
3) 11th Hour CISSP, 2nd edition, Eric Conrad.
4) Cybrary video -

I started my reading from the item 3 below get the basis understanding. Eric Conrad is an excellent author as he summarized key points and cut through the noise. I then started with item #2. This resource is extremely too technical and difficult to understand. Alll 3 authors have conflicting ways of writing and it makes the reading difficult. I struggled through it but abandoned the book 3/4 of the way in. I picked up with Item #1 and cleared the book in late April. As I read these books, I extracted my own notes and created my flash cards using quizlet. Starting in May, I drilled through these flash card (there were around 1100 cards/concepts) about two weeks before the trainingcamp class. During all these times, I did not run through any practice exam other than those review questions at the end of the chapter of the Item #1 and #2