Passed 70-461 today

NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
I passed today with an 812. This was my first attempt at the exam.

I have about 3 years of experience in SQL Server, mostly in SQL Server 2008. I used the MS Press training kit w/Measure UP practice exams, TrainSignal videos, MSDN and lots of practice. Total study time was 4 weeks - I started after passing the CIW exam for Web Technologies through WGU. I set up a Server 2012 VM with SQL Server 2012 for practice. I work in SQL Server writing queries every day but I can't use the new SQL Server 2012 functions yet.

I did all the exercises in the MS Press book but skipped the case studies.

The book and videos covered covered most of what I needed. I did have to draw on experience for much of the exam as well. If you do not have some time with SQL Server under your belt, practice a lot before taking this exam. You need to be comfortable writing queries using all of the features and functions found in the book. Know the syntax for the major stuff cold.

The trainsignal videos were informative and well presented but I wish there was an option to speed up the video - sometimes he was covering subjects I was already familair with and I would prefer to at least be able to listen for anything I wasn't familair with.

If you plan to take this exam make sure you read the answer choices very carefully and compare the answers carefully with what the question is asking. It's easy to choose the right answer for the situation but the wrong answer for the question.

The keys to this exam are syntax, data types and practice, practice, practice!

Edited to add:
I wanted to add that IMO the trainsignal videos were an excellent value and did help reinforce the concepts I learned from the book and practice.
When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.

Comments

• webgeekwebgeek Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats!
    BS in IT: Information Assurance and Security (Capella) CISSP, GIAC GSEC, Net+, A+